• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Servicing a VR3235 movement (my first attempt at servicing a movement).

dogwood

I'm Pretty Popular
Patron
Certified
7/9/21
Canada
So after struggling to find a watchsmith in Vancouver that would service reps, I decided that I'd try to learn how to do it myself. I enrolled in Mark Lovick's online course and studied my way through the first two levels of the course before being brave enough to try to disassemble a movement. I'd ordered a Unitas 6497 (the movement used in the course) from AliExpress, but it has been stuck in customs for the last two weeks, and I was getting impatient. So rather than continue to wait, I elected to try "servicing" the VR3235 out of my CF DJ41. Note: I put the word "servicing" in scare quotes here because I'm pretty sure that since this is my first attempt, I'm going to leave the movement in worse shape than it was when it left China. Regardless, onwards... Here are some pics and some things that I found harder and easier than I expected.

Things that were easier than I expected:
  1. Removing the watch hands was pretty easy. I bough one of those cheap presto tools for hand removal from amazon, and with a layer of plastic to protect the dial, it worked like a charm. I thought this would be way harder.
  2. The disassembly and re-assembly process were actually pretty easy to follow. PsychoTee16 gave me access to some a rolex 3135 movement service manual that he had. And while the VR3235 is pretty different on the balance side, on the dial side and in the keyless works, it's very much like a 3135, so that was really helpful.
Things that were harder than I expected: