• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Silencing the Miyota rotor on AP JF 15400

rypho1

8/7/16
Ok.... after taking and combining lots of helpful tips from various users on here (Thankyou) i have finally managed to shut that annoying rotor up on my jf 15400, so thought i would share what worked for me a complete newbie getting into this game and put it all in one place. Its not a complete guide but took pics on the important bits so hopefully anyone can do it..but remember i took the risk on MY OWN watch so follow the next steps at your own risk and any pros out there let me know if anything needs updating : Lets get started

First off....... the tools and what i used:

20160805_195812.jpg

• Moebius watch oil (d5) for the bearings as i understand d5 has the right thickness
  • slotted screw driver set mine has the following widths in the set 0.80 mm, 1.00 mm, 1.20 mm, 1.40 mm, 1.60 mm
  • 1 tweezers / magnetic tip screw driver for those stupidly tiny screws once you get inside
  • Cocktail sticks/toothpick for holding rotor steady and using it to drop oil (more on that later)
  • small sponge to dab up any excess oil (novelty pink one not required) ;)
  • cling film to cover screws while loosening and tightening so you dont slip and scratch case or screws with screw driver ( it worked for me a newbie not 1 scratch!)

*ps: no need to take straps off the watch im waiting for custom ones to replace crappy rep leather ones so thats why mine are off*

on to the process:

1)I Pulled out the crown to hack the movement so its not ticking away while i work
2) unscrewed all the back screws using the clingfilm trick between the screwdriver and screws to stop scratching
3) once all screws are out used the cocktail stick to wedge and lift off back cover