• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Rolex Rep vs Gen Ceramic Bezel Durability

butler182

Renowned Member
14/12/20
Anyone have thoughts on the durability, or lack there of, of Rolex rep ceramic bezels vs gen? I've noticed some of the reps in the for sale section that are more than a year or two old tend to look a little beaten up. I'm new to the hobby, so just curious if this is to be expected with most rep ceramic bezels (ie they will scuff, scratch, chip, etc. much easier than a gen).

Dirkjon

Supporter
Certified
15/4/12
USA
I've had a Noob v9 and the insert marker paint didn't hold up very well at all.....blistered. Have an ARF v3 and had the same issue. Replaced it with a Clean v2 insert and that has outlasted both of them so far. No issues with the insert chipping or scratching on any of them, just the paint issues on the markers. Fingers crossed for the Clean insert!

butler182

Renowned Member
14/12/20
Thanks for the info....so far as I can tell, the CF inserts look great. Good to hear yours is holding up well.

p0pperini

patr0n h0arder
Gold Patron
Certified
29/1/19
UK
The only common issue that sets rep ceramic inserts apart from gens is paint wear in the markers. And often this is just dirt - the markers will brighten up again after a gentle wash. Ceramic inserts can also look a bit grubby on the surface, from finger marks or grease. No different to the gen in that respect. Apart from marker paint wear, I’ve never seen or owned a ceramic insert that looked scuffed, scratched or chipped. They can however be cracked, most often during removal or refitting - again, just like a gen.

CF inserts don’t have a particularly good reputation when it comes to the longevity of their marker paint, sadly.