• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

PAM 388 Rep. Who makes the closest one to the Gen?

nomad1984

Horology Curious
9/1/15
I am looking at Purchasing a PAM 388 and was wondering, is the balance wheel located at the 7 o-clock position on the REP(on the display back) of this watch?. I LOVE the 388! I tried one on at Hyde Park and absolutely loved it. Just wondering how close the movement (appearance), and features are compared to the Gen? I know the Front looks PERFECT but was curious on the back. Am I expecting too much for the Rep to look EXACTLY like the Gen in every way? Obviously I know the in-house movement will not be duplicated but it can at least be close correct? In the appearance? I am completely new to watches and am loving the hobby. Just hoping for a little bit more education from some of you experts here.

Thank you!

vz.fanatics

You're Saying I Can Sell?
20/12/14
I suggest you read ALE's guide to Panerai reps. it's the best and most extensive guide there is! Here's the link: http://forum.replica-watch.info/vb/showthread.php?t=107365
Currently, I think the KW PAM388 V1 with the Seagull movement is the closest to the gen since the balance wheel is at 6 o'clock. The KW PAM388 V2 with the A7750 movement has the balance wheel at the 11 o clock.
I am also looking for a PAM388 but am abit hesitant after reading about problems with the screws that hold the straps.

WalkerDH

I'm Pretty Popular
14/7/14
Bucharest Romania
I just bought a Pam 388o KW v2 with Seagull movement from Toro Bravo. The lugs screw problem was fixed with the V2 version. PM your TD and ask for the V2 with Seagull movement that furthermore is also cheaper that the A7750

kilowattore

Sales Moderator / Section Moderator
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Section Moderator
Certified
11/5/13
Italy
You will not find a 388 with a movement looking EXACTLY as gen.