• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

How can they QC when they don't see the watches?

TseTse

Horology Curious
1/9/12
I am a noob here. Help me understand.

I ordered 2 watches from differend Dealers. Both from Hong Kong. Both TD here.
I received them both. One shipped from Singapore, the other from China.

The one from singapore is ok.
The one from china not so much. 1. wrong model sent. 2. Dead On Arrival.

My question is how can the dealers perform Quality Control when they don't seem to be sending the watches themselves? They are both in HK and the watches shipped from SG and China. From makers? Agents?

How does this all work?

watchman12345

I'm Pretty Popular
8/10/06
Lots of delaers don't QC at all. They factory photos the watch or a dealers representative does it.

If you see Kay

Put Some Respect On My Name
26/1/09
qc pics are all just a marketing ploy. As you mention, the dealers don't see the watches, it is all drop shipped from the manufacturer and those are manufacturer's stock pics. It's provides a false sense of security for those who feel comforted by the fact that someone took a pic somewhere of some watch that may or may not be the one that they are actually receiving.

rileywiley

Known Member
9/5/12
I don't know. If it is a ploy then Trevor at least is very good at it. When I got my PO from him he sent me 3 sets of pictures until I found the watch that I wanted and sent me that exact one. I know it was the same one because the pearl was perfect but the seconds hand was faded.

eudora12

26/2/12
qc pics are all just a marketing ploy. As you mention, the dealers don't see the watches, it is all drop shipped from the manufacturer and those are manufacturer's stock pics. It's provides a false sense of security for those who feel comforted by the fact that someone took a pic somewhere of some watch that may or may not be the one that they are actually receiving.