• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

GMT II - DD3285 & SH3285

duderino

You're Saying I Can Sell?
11/6/24
Hey everyone!

Long-time (genuine) watch collector here. I wanted to share my experience with my first replicas: the GMT II with movements SH3285 and DD3285.

Hont had a promotion for the GMT II with the SH3285 movement, so I decided to give it a try. After seeing the quality of modern replicas, my reaction was basically, "What the fook?!" I placed the VSF Batgirl next to a genuine Pepsi and I knew this wouldn't be my last replica.

I then contacted Steve and ordered a Clean lefty/sprite.

I'm not a movement expert, but from what I understand, the DD movement is a true clone with only minor differences from the genuine movement. The SH, on the other hand, is a modified movement with an added GMT module.

When comparing the Clean and VSF GMTs, I have to say they both look excellent. When I put them, along with the genuine watch, side by side, the main difference I noticed was that the Clean GMT has a slightly thicker date font. I'm not sure if it's due to a slightly more aggressive cyclops magnification or if the actual font is thicker, but it's a discernible difference if you're looking for it and have a genuine watch for comparison.

The VSF is pretty much flawless.

Now, I'm wondering: how much better is the Dandong 3285 movement really compared to the SH3285? Sure, it has a smaller power reserve at 40 hours compared to DD's 72. But is it otherwise as reliable? If so, I'd almost say that the VSF is a better deal since it looks slightly better and is roughly 150 euros cheaper.

What do you guys think?

derjenigewelcher

Watch Enthusiast
Supporter
Patron
Certified
22/11/20
Switzerland
Hi:)

VSF? You dont mean ARF?

VSF released a GMT, but with old CLEAN parts, and under other factory name, and they built in VR3186 movement.