• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

My $0.02 on replica watch collecting

trevor2079

Renowned Member
2/5/07
I’ve been collecting replica watches for about two years now. I really appreciate the knowledgeable members of this board which have helped me make informed replica purchases. Thought I would share a few of my thoughts about our hobby, to see if most of you agree with me or not. Hopefully this will generate some useful discussion and some directions for our new members.

1) Buy the best replica you can afford. With few exceptions, you will not be happy with the less accurate rep if you know there is a “better†version out there. Those little differences which at first did not seem like a big deal will begin to eat away at you. Your new purchase will soon end up in the back of the watch box, never to be seen again. You will wish you had saved your $100-$150 and put it towards the $250-$300 version. The only exceptions to this rule are if you can save some dollars by purchasing an Asian movement instead of Swiss. Don’t expect that 21J to sweep as nicely as an ETA; however ETA “clones†aren’t distinguishable from their Swiss counterparts unless you crack the case. There is concern of long term reliability or replacement parts for Asian movements. My response; send it back to China and spend $20 on a new movement if something goes wrong.