• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

New A-2836 "SuperClone" movement

discog

Known Member
9/6/11
Hello RWI

I noticed this post on the puretime site today:

http://puretimewatch.com/blog/166/

It says they have watches available with a new, higher quality ETA 2836 clone. He stops just short of calling it a 1:1 clone (snicker). I'm no expert, but the pics look nice. If this isn't just marketing hype, it could be a great alternative to "refurbished" "Swiss" movements.

What say the experts?

Bonesey

Mythical Poster
Advisor
15/1/11
I think the movement is out to a few people to dear down and critique so that we can see if this really is a decent clone of the 2836. If it has 100% interchangeability with 2836 parts then that really is excellent news. If it also keeps time as good as he says it does then it's also excellent news!

phillycheez

Put Some Respect On My Name
6/6/09
Can't wait to hear a breakdown review. Maybe start a donation pool to buy a movement and send it to wiz for a review.

rol_man

Put Some Respect On My Name
Supporter
Certified
25/7/08
Looking forward to any updated information to see if these really exist and how good they are...

coop

OG member in the Lou
Supporter
Advisor
11/10/06
St. Louis
Yes, very nice looking. I got this in my email from him. Looks like I need to pick one up and check it out.

G30

I'm Pretty Popular
12/1/11
Hmmm... :thinking:

This could be a game changer...

andries

Known Member
3/1/11
Angus mentioned that Vac got sample of this movement and Smidsy as well. I guess we just have to wait for nice detailed review. :)

frankt8242

I'm Pretty Popular
12/5/06
The REAL problem is: >>>

Even if there is a truly is such a development, what guarantee will we have that we are actually going to get one in the watch we order..??