• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Myota v. ETA Chinese or Swiss

signmeup

Banned member, the goat does not approve
Banned
27/7/06
I have an Invicta YachtMaster. It looks like a Rolex except for the inscribed Invicta dial and rotor and it runs like a Rolex (reliable). So why aren't there more Invicta movements rather than this debate over ETA Chinese or genuine Swiss?
My Invicta keeps excellent time and it does not have a noisy rotor, a crown that wobbles when pulled out or a misaligned bezel etc.
It would seem to me as a newcomer to this debate that we would all be better served if the Invicta were to have the dial replaced and the rotor engraved with Rolex. I am so tired of hearing about the many problems of Chinese reps with this slightly out of whack or that not quite right and the the nit picking about these less than acceptable watches. When you get right down to it all I want is a rep that does what it is supposed to do and first and foremost is run well and reliably and keeps good time for a price that is less than the gens so that we less than wealthy can afford and enjoy them. So, where do I get a Rolex rep with a Japanese Myota movement and signmeup?

pugwash

Mythical Poster
30/4/07
signmeup said:
So, where do I get a Rolex rep with a Japanese Myota movement and signmeup?
No-one seems to be making then and selling them here. ETA movements are significantly better than Miyota movements and apparently not that much more expensive wholesale.

signmeup

Banned
27/7/06
Sorry it is Miyota not Myota. It is my understanding that Swiss ETA movements are not to be had but Asian ETA movements are available. I would bet that the Miyota movement is available in quantity. But who in Asia (China) would buy a Miyota movement and put it in their knockoff watch? I wonder if a Rolex dial would fit an Invicta?

pugwash

Mythical Poster
30/4/07
signmeup said: