• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Moonwatch project question

shokobo

Horology Curious
8/6/13
Hi,

I am a Noob here but have done a few projects in thepast.

I have a question regarding the current Omega Moonwatch replacement cases:

1) Are the Cal 321 and Cal 861 the same in size?
2) Will a Cal 861 movement fit into a Cal 321 case (145.0012)?

Thanks in advance,

Shokobo

wampa

Known Member
4/12/12
I think a cal.861 with fit in the earlier case and fit earlier dials. Omega put the cal.861 into the older cases and dial set up in the transitional Speedy models which were the cross over between the older cal.321 pre-moon and the cal.861 Speedy.

shokobo

Horology Curious
8/6/13
Hi Wampa,

Thank you for the information.

I know there are issues when trying to assemble 321 dials on a 861. This is because the dial legs are much thicker (Not sure about the location).

I would prefer buying a 145.0012 case to a 145.0022 case as I am trying to build a transitional 861 (68/69) Speedy. Also the 145.0012 are considerably cheaper and have the correct case back.

Best regards,

Shokobo

wampa

Known Member
4/12/12
Good luck with the project, do you have the bits already?

shokobo

Horology Curious
8/6/13
I have the 861 movement, a Gen 1171 bracelet and correct
Dial and hands on the way.

I will decide between the two possible cases
And start working.

I'll post photos here when the project is ready.

Cheers,

Shokobo

Mr. Pap

Section Moderator
Section Moderator
5/6/08
Get a 145.0022 case and save your self from troubles and likely mods.

At least that's what i am doing...

shokobo

Horology Curious
8/6/13
Thanks for the advice - I will probably go in that direction to be sure The movement fits the case without modifications.
Cousins currently sell the version with the stainless steel bezel.
I will likely need to get the black bezel and probably a different case back.