• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Clutch spring jumped out?

hptjfl

Horology Curious
14/4/24
I have an IWC-replica chronograph, with the a7750 movement. Today it stopped moving, so I opened it up and found a small metal piece loose inside stuck in the movement. I pulled it out and image googled it. Seems to be the clutch spring.

I'm kinda new to this but not afraid to take on mechanical tasks. Been googling and found links to disassemble / assembling of the a7750 which require flash to view, which does not work nowadays. Hard for me to say if this is a tough large job or if it would be possible for somebody with little experience (basically none) with watches.

Problems I'm experiencing with the watch:
The crown seems to be winding the watch even when unscrewing it from its screwed in position (it did not do this before)
The chronograph starting button doesnt give a click anymore (but starts and stops as it should)

I will gladly provide any more information if needed. Thanks in advance to anyone offering any support /+ knowledge.

Plaasbaas

IWC-hoarder and PAM-hunter
Supporter
Certified
4/4/21
Germany
That's indeed the clutch spring, good thinking to image google it :)

If you are inexperienced better leave it to a skilled watchmaker, those 7750 movements are complicated.

To give you an idea what you are looking at, I put a Youtube video below. He's installing the clutch spring at around 9:45 into the video.

Reactions: hptjfl

hptjfl

Horology Curious
14/4/24
Ok, I have watched the full stripdown (or the beginning) of this teardown:

And doesn't the missing part show up on 1:37 already?
If so, it could possibly be a pretty easy replacement. Please let me know if I'm wrong

Plaasbaas

Supporter
Certified
4/4/21
Germany
Ok, I have watched the full stripdown (or the beginning) of this teardown:

And doesn't the missing part show up on 1:37 already?