• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Panerai 292 (Why is there a weird mark on the Panerai dial on the Noob J versions?)

PaneraiSwag

Horology Curious
6/10/14
Hi,

I'm new to the watch forum and after spending hours reading through the EPIC Reference Pam Review guide, I'm pretty set on buying the black seal radiomir ceramic PAM292.

I'd like to get the super rep version Noob J version, but there seems to be a huge problem. (at least I think it is). The ones that they are selling has this sort of torpedo shaped, or people in a canoe, (not sure what it is) mark on top of the PANERAI words on the dial. I can't find any ones where this is not there and wonder why the manufacturers would do such a thing to such a beautiful watch.

Can anyone please educate me why the mark is there? or where I can purchase one without the mark?

I can see this as a new addiction as I also have my eye on the Fiddy.... and oh my, if they ever produce a super rep version of the one with the blue dials, I'm definitely will be getting that one too.

Experts, please help!

THANKS! :heffalump:

kilowattore

Sales Moderator / Section Moderator
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Section Moderator
Certified
11/5/13
Italy
Oh, lol!

Actually that's the human torpedo called "maiale" (pig) that was used by the italian navy in the 30's.
It's a tribute to the military origin of the Panerai brand, early 2533s and 3646s were worn by the same men that used these torpedoes. :)

PaneraiSwag

Horology Curious
6/10/14
Hehe OH i see!! that's what everyone means by PIG. Do the gen 292's have this PIG on it? I haven't found any online. Also do you know if there is a Noob J version without the pig?

kilowattore

Sales Moderator / Section Moderator
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Section Moderator
Certified
11/5/13
Italy
I think there are versions without pig, but I would say not from noob.