• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

[PPF] Nautilus White Dial - Initial impression & Photos

xenic

You're Saying I Can Sell?
28/1/14
This is my first time doing anything like this. I know there are already couple threads like mine, so I'm sorry if it breaks the rules. I am just a guy who likes watches and enjoy taking photos. If you have any questions, feel free to comment down below.

Basic information:
  • Model: Nautilus 5711/1a
  • Factory: PPF
  • Dealer: Ryan at InTime
  • Diameter: 40mm
  • Thickness: 8.6mm
Flaws ("tells"):
Severe - Flaws or defects that can be noticed 30 cm+ away
Moderate - Flaws or defects that can be noticed <30 cm
Low - Flaws or defects that can be noticed under a loupe or hi-res photos
Feel - Flaws or defects that can be felt when held in hand
  • Severe
    • N/A
  • Moderate
    • Bezel thickness
    • Protruding crown
    • Uneven twelve o'clock markers
    • Occasionally misaligned datewheel
    • Incorrect movement (duh)
  • Low
    • Logo font
    • Print quality
    • Unfinished inner edges around the date window
    • 12 o'clock markers on mine reflect light differently and look like a mismatch
    • Imperfect lume
    • Other small imperfections (e.g. dust, scratch) on either dial or movement
  • Feel
    • Some sharp edges inside the bracelet
    • Bracelet clasp -- it's a battle trying to get this to open
    • Crown is rough to wind
Initial impression:
  • It's a high quality rep that seems to accurately capture the essence of gen design.
  • For the price, however, I wish the QC was better out of factory. If you read the megathread on PPF Nautilus, nearly every QC photo has either misaligned markers at 12 o'clock and/or incorrectly shaped markers at 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, or 11 o'clock positions.