• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

{*PCTeam*} River Welded Lugs - finally complete

kilowattore

Sales Moderator / Section Moderator
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Section Moderator
Certified
11/5/13
Italy
Originally posted May 31, 2015

River Welded Lugs - finally complete

Finally, after a long wait and a lot of work, I finalised my welded lugs project. First of all, a huge thank you goes to Elias who sent me a spare crown after I busted the one that came with the case: thanks my friend, you're one of a kind! :thumbup:
Of course nothing here could have been done without you guys from the forum, everything I did comes from the tutorials and informations you shared, thanks :)

For this project, and for the foreseeable future builds, I have not been looking for total accuracy to the gen. I am not an expert by any means, but the thing I reckon from the old Panerai history is that the variations were almost infinite, and this left me some room to build a watch that's credible without being bound to be accurate to a specific model.

I have experimented and learnt a lot with this case, trying to achieve a very aged and worn look without going too far and destroy it (that would have been too easy indeed for me! :lol:).

Here's the list of work done by me:

- Back and front plexis have been very slightly tinted, then aged following Hixxy's tutorial.
- Case has been aged by me, caseback engravings have been filled trying to achieve a worn look.
- Movement ring has been aged with the egg trick.
- Hands have been very lightly brushed and aged with the egg trick as well. Lume has been darkened with tea + coffee. Faux CP has been added.

The dial has been produced by Ross and Bigwaved painted and lumed it. The result as you can see is stunning and sets the watch apart.