• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Which is better Sapphire or Mineral Crystal?

ostatecowboy67

Known Member
28/7/10
I'm trying to decide on my next couple of reps, and I would greatly appreciate any input. I am looking specifically at Omega Seamaster, Omega Speedmaster and Omega Planet Ocean. I know which style I like, as well as the movement, but what about the crystal? I have found the prices vary from almost nothing to quite a bit between the two.

Which is better as far as longevity, avoiding scratches, etc? Is there really any difference between the two, or is it a "you get what you pay for?" Right now I have an Omega Speedmaster Apollo 11 from WBK, with Sapphire Crystal, and it has been everything I could want in a gen, let alone it is a rep. Seriously, I have hit it on things, done the typical desk diving for things, and there still is not a mark on the case, band or crystal.

Thanks in advance, Brian (ostatecowboy67)

KBH

Mythical Poster
1/11/07
Sapphire is MUCH more scratch resistant and is used in almost all good quality watches. Mineral glass is whats used in the windows in your house. It can be coated with a hardened surface but it still scratches much easier than sapphire.

levelmanroger

Mythical Poster
Patron
Certified
1/10/08
Texas
Sapphire is much more scratch resistant and is what comes on nearly all nice gen watches.
Often rep watches which come with mineral are lower-end models which also come with cheaper movements, hands, dials, cases, etc. But not always.
Make sure you are comparing more than just the crystal when comparing model choices.

ostatecowboy67

Known Member
28/7/10