• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Quality questions???

dog-man

You're Saying I Can Sell?
27/12/11
Hi,
I am new to the rep watch game!

I was considering buying a $62 rep seamaster 300m from Silix and saw they jump in price to $208 for the swiss movement and saphire crystal. This is a big jump in price for my first entry into the rep watches.

I don't want to cheap out too much and then be turned off the rep watches!

So is the $148 option from trevorwatches a compromise which gets me a nice watch to get me started off. It comes with a saphire crystal so I'm guessing should feel and look more like the big $$$ watch its a rep of?

thanks,
Caine.

Mr. Pap

Section Moderator
Section Moderator
5/6/08
Hello dog-man and welcome to the forum...

First of all i fully understand your second thoughts on spending much $ on the first purchase... But believe me this will happen soon or later!

About the watch you chose, i would sugest you to avoid the swiss one. There are many topics about the issue and how you may end with a repaired/old one. There are of course dealers who can get a swiss one if you want...

My advise is to choose the asian clone movement, which is a very good movement overall and if/when it dies you can just swap for another clone or eta if you want to upgrade. So yes the 148$ would get you a nice one to start off. If you like post a link to see which one you are talking about.

dog-man

27/12/11
I should also tell you I have a seiko skx007 auto divers watch which costs $150 so I'm expecting a similar level of quality.

Mr. Pap

Section Moderator
Section Moderator
5/6/08
Well i am not familiar with the seiko you are refering to so as to give you an opinion, but from another point of view you will pay 150$ for a rep of a watch that costs lets say 3000$.
If you see it that way i am sure you will be amazed of the watch you will get...

Rovin

Renowned Member
27/6/10