• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

PO with Asian 2824 or 4813?

lason

Getting To Know The Place
28/9/12
Ok, I'm about to pull the trigger on a PO and wanted to get a 2824 movement but was advised that there had been returns due to broken movements and to get the 4813. Is the 4813 a good movement? Please go easy on me, I'm still a noob at this.

teamio77

13/8/12
I once asked in this forum if 4813 has the sweeping sec hand motion and the replied I got was a YES. So the issue here is on durability which i THINK really depends alot on luck when it comes to Rep.

Read comments abt 2813 being a cheap and reliable workhorse but what I had was a lazy horse which will stop working once every few days.

mclarendude

𝙟𝙚𝙩𝙨𝙥𝙚𝙚𝙙
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Certified
16/2/11
ATL
The 4813 costs $20 to replace the movement. A new 4813 costs $20. So its easy to fix. I went for the 2824. But its because I always get 2824 because I tend to buy a new swiss eta for it. Both are smooth sweeps. Just one movement costs a lot more than the other.

Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk

lason

28/9/12
So do I take my chances and possibly end up with a faulty 2824? The email Trevor sent said he's had returns with the 2824 movement.

teamio77

13/8/12
Its your call mate. I will go with the 4813 without any hesistation. Cost is an important factor to me. Furthermore it sec sweeps.

lason

28/9/12
It's only a $50 difference. I want this watch to last.

guanaco

Mythical Poster
Advisor
16/7/07
Sidi Power Plant