• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Planning on a Franken 5th Gen 42mm PO, need some advice

ck6459

11/9/10
After reading through the threads about franken watch, I feel like pulling the trigger on a franken 42mm PO.
However, there aren't much projects being published so I will need some advice from PO experts about following questions:
Which are the deadly give-away parts that I must change for my 5th Gen?
(I know the bracelet is one of it, but a $400 bracelet is not very budget friendly)
Since I'm not good enough to do the swap, any idea who is willing to do the mod?

How much will it normally cost for labor fee?

How will the water resistance be after the mod? Will it be better than with all rep parts?

Thank you.

warpedpig

12/2/07
I'm no expert on this topic, but to my eyes the bezel, specifically the pearl, has never been very close to gen on any PO reps. I would rate that ahead of the bracelet. The dial and hands would be my next objective.

This can get pricy, probably at minimum $500 for the above parts sans installation.

Let us know how it goes with your project.

Forgot to add HE valve and crown should be modded as the rep's versions are bigger than gen.

stefanp67

Horology Curious
5/8/10
I am no expert either :D but having looked at the PO v5 pics and the gen pics i would fit the following parts in the following order:

1. Bezel because of the pearl which is such an obvious tell on big pics
2. Crystal because the rep crystal looks oddly colored in some angles
3. He-valve because the rep valve seems bigger
4. Dial and hands because of the lume and the omega logo
5. Crown and tube for the outstanding durability of the gen crown+tube