• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Patrick Bateman first build 16013 - VS3135

neejij

Getting To Know The Place
24/4/24
Hi RWI,
I got inspired by the user @Replicated and his vintage build. I have six Seikos, and my favorite is a two-tone quartz that looks like Patrick Bateman's watch from the movie American Psycho.

However, I wanted more, specifically the book version of this watch. This is my first build ever, and I messaged @Replicated for advice.
The total price, excluding tools, was around €660.

This was the crown jewel of the build

Where to start?

Installing the date wheel on the vs3135:

This was kind of easy but required a few attempts.

I damaged the wheel a little bit, but it’s not noticeable once in the case. You need to put this wheel under all the round/circle holders.

Here you can see it’s not correctly installed. Look at the bottom right. You can test the date wheel in the movement itself.

Next up was fitting the glass and bezel. This also went wrong a lot. The white round spacer between the bezel and glass should be bigger at the top than the bottom, otherwise, the glass won't sit evenly.

Push the glass first, then the bezel.

Looks quite right.

From the side.

Next, i fitted the band. I also removed one of the non-removable links from the short end of the bracelet because I have small wrists. It's pretty tight now, but it will get better over time as it’s worn.

Big vs small boy.

Beginners mistake i did not know how to fit the dial on the movement.
There are two screws on the side that need to be loosened. I also lost one of these screws for about an hour on the ground, which was not fun.

What a beauty! I got the date to jump at almost perfect 12 o'clock. Putting the second hand on took incredibly long. I think it took me almost 3 hours to put the hands on.