• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Omega "Electric Blue" Review.

Hyster

29/7/06
Omega SMP “Electric Blueâ€

Diagonalshot.jpg

I picked this up in the members market from Richard Lawton.
He mentioned to me he bought it from River about 5years ago.

I have little knowledge of these watches and would warmly welcome any feedback or information from more experienced members. Please feel free to chip in as long as you don’t mind me plagiarising it and passing it off as my own. :D

The dial is probably the most striking thing about this watch, Iridescence is the word that springs to mind. Even in dull light is a pretty shade of blue but when the light catches it, it almost lights up. Very eye catching.

Smp.jpg

The bezel is mirror polished with blue numerals and is a bugger to keep finger prints off, again though very pretty.

datefont.jpg

The pearl very slightly off centre and blown up in these pics seems to have a slight imperfection, looks perfect on the wrist thankfully

The big deal I suppose about the closed factory replicas is the helium valve or rather its position, to my eye it looks spot on. A few millimetres above the 10 position.

IMG_4383.jpg

The bracelet is the Speedmaster type consistent with this model, it is well made and has pins as opposed to screws.

Smp2.jpg

The clasp I would say is this reps main Achilles heel, It looks and operates fine apart from the text and omega symbol, these are etched and not engraved.

Clasp.jpg

The case is very nice and even has a serial at the seven lug position (bottom left lug) which surprised me .

Rearofwatchserial.jpg

The crown guard is a second flaw, for me it is the wrong shape, at first I thought the crown screwed in too far but further inspection leads me to think that reshaping the guard at its lowest point would remove this flaw. Done well I think this would look very close to genuine.

Daylightshot.jpg