• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Hi From San Francisco

Doright

Renowned Member
3/8/13
Been lurking for a week or so and wanted to pop in and say hi.
I'm totally new to RWI and replicas in general but, I have to admit, this is already turning into an addiction. I'm already ready to pull the trigger on 3 watches from Ryan over at InTime. Have a quick nooby question though:

Ryan mentioned that he can help me install AR crystal. It is $100 extra.

Can someone tell me what an AR Crystal is and why I'd need one on a brand new AP watch?

Thank you in advance and for all you do here!!

Tony

Jeremy

Renowned Member
16/6/13
I have to admit, this is already turning into an addiction.

You have no idea.. it's a sickness and you just got infected. :cheers:

AR == Anti Reflective coating on the crystal.

arcadia

Put Some Respect On My Name
11/8/11
SF is one of the most beautiful places I've visited. Traffic is a bit harsh 'tho during rush hours.

Welcome to the forum.

Doright

Renowned Member
3/8/13
Thanks all!
Hey Luthier, sounds like you think 100.00 is a little steep for the AR. Since I really don't even know what the anti reflective coating is for, I have no idea if this is worth it. Ryan at InTime recommended this and said he could show me how to install it. Is this a common practice?

The cool thing about this site is that I'm seeing and learning about watches that I'd never heard of previously. So far my favorites are Panerai, Hublot, Audemars Piguet and a few Omega's, in that order. I would have guessed I'd be drawn to Rolex first, but there are so many other great watches out there. Also a great learning experience!!

If anyone has any recommendations, I'm all ears.

Thank again!!

Tony

Doright

Renowned Member
3/8/13
Thanks Mike 8,

My dad was from up-state. I love New York. I'll be in the the big apple next month.