• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Help me identify this movement

Theplayer

Horology Curious
6/1/23
Italy
I found this movement inside my date just 41mm rep, I can't find any information on this. It broke after a short time so anyone know a valid alternative to this? Thank you

dangerdan3

Renowned Member
3/12/20
It looks like a DG2813 to me. Not sure what’s compatible without making a new spacer ring, but I know it’s been done before. Maybe with A2824?

Theplayer

Horology Curious
6/1/23
Italy
Thank you for your support I stil have 2 questions (sorry I'm a newbie):
- if I don't know the movement but I know the watch type (datejust) it is possible to say that the movements like ETA 2824-2 or miyota 8215 will surely fit inside the watch case with and the only need is a spacer ring (which I can print in 3D)?
- thinking about changing the movement is it possible to say that the actual clock face I have is compatible or I have like to change the position of the pins which holds it to the movement, do other adjustments?

dangerdan3

Renowned Member
3/12/20
No worries, they’re good questions.
For your first one, it’s tricky to say what movement will fit the case without measuring it. Things like movement diameter, thickness, height of hand pinions, position of stem height all need to be accounted for.
That leads nicely to the second question, you’ll need to note the positions of the dial feet, which will likely only be compatible with the DG2813. To use that dial with a different movement, you’ll need to snip off the feet and use adhesive “dial dots” to secure it in place.
There’s a bit of research to do, find the data sheet of a 2824 or nh35 (for example), grab some calipers and measure the internal dimensions of the case. Compare the 2 and see if they can be shimmed or spaced. It’s a bit of work but a good exercise

Reactions: subara

Theplayer

Horology Curious
6/1/23
Italy