• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Exercise caution when using Wise for TD payments

eBoy

⏱️ RWI New Members Area Chief Janitor 🎪🛠️
Section Moderator
Certified
2/4/21
Eurasia
This is a heads-up for anyone who may be using Wise for business or has higher amounts of funds parked with them. In that case, you should exercise caution when paying a TD via Wise.

The following occured recently with my Wise account:

I had been using Wise (formerly know as TransferWise) since 2019 for private transactions. I have sent about €60,000 in total since then, within EU and outside. Not once did any of my transactions trigger any money laundering alerts.

3 months ago I tried to send approximately €300 to a TD's UnionPay card in China. The payment did not go through. Instead, for the first time since using my Wise account, a money laundering alert was triggered and I was asked to submit documents to prove the source of the €300 I was trying to send to China. None of the documents provided were sufficient to get the payment approved. After a few attempts, the final notice was that the recipient's account was currently unable to receive any funds and that the money would be refunded. My own Wise account was unlocked again, even though the verification of my documents was unsuccessful. A few days later, I was able —as always— to transfer about €1,400 to an account I own outside of the EU and that I had previously sent money to dozens of times without any issues.