• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Could someone please...

JPBreit

Do not accept unsolicited offers
26/4/09
Tell me the difference between all these movements? I'm a newbie to the rep scene, and don't understand all the movement stuff. From my current understanding i realise that Asian 21J movements are cheaper than Asian 7750 movements. Have no clue what Quartz movements are etc. Also what's the bhp thing about? Is that just how fast it moves at? HELP! :oops:

sconehead

I'm Pretty Popular
3/12/07
The higher the bph (beats per hour) the smoother the sweep of the second hand on a mechanical watch. Asian 21j watches normally beat at 21,600 (6 ticks per second) whereas ETA/CLONE ETA's beat at 28,800 (8 times per second) and therefore sweep smoother. The 7750 is what is known as a chrono movement which means it has sub dials so you can use it as a stopwatch...hope this helps... :wink:

kendog870

30/6/09
Im new too and it takes alot of time and research to understand these movements. but you have come to the right place. There are alot of experts here. Oh the one thing i do know is , Quartz means the watch is battery operated
JPBreit said:
Tell me the difference between all these movements? I'm a newbie to the rep scene, and don't understand all the movement stuff. From my current understanding i realise that Asian 21J movements are cheaper than Asian 7750 movements. Have no clue what Quartz movements are etc. Also what's the bhp thing about? Is that just how fast it moves at? HELP! :oops:

jmgentry

Known Member
5/7/09
Dang I got hoodwinked!!! The dealer told me quartz was a new type of High End Mechanical Movement. :evil:

I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! :cry:

Just kidding :shock: :lol:

Here are some common terms you will see and read about on dealer website hope this helps: