• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Buying First Rep - PO Questions

singstar

You're Saying I Can Sell?
31/12/10
Hello,

I am currently considering to buy my first rep, and I am unsure if a 45.5mm PO would be too big for my 6.5" wrist (~16.5cm). The flat area on the top of my wrist measures about 5cm.

Do you guys reckon I should go for a 42mm or 45.5mm PO?

Also, I have been looking at many of the trusted dealers and am unsure as to which to buy from. I am thinking Marvellous Replica but can't seem to justify the price (>.<). Is an asian clone 2824-2 more accurate in time keeping than an asian 21j? Is the clone 2824 much more reliable in the long run?

Also does have a sapphire crystal make a big difference from a mineral crystal glass?

Cheers

=)

SMP_lover

Strap mastermind
Vendor (Strap Maker)
13/12/10
I have a 7" wrist and 42mm PO fits the bill perfectly. I'm a fellow newbie here and bought my first rep just a week ago from Fakemaster, and I'm really happy with the 21j movement and the overall look of the watch. As for now it keeps great time, gained some 30 seconds in a week which is more than acceptable for me

chisin

Renowned Member
18/8/10
Well, don't have my UPO with me at the moment, but I'd estimate that the lugs add a further 0.6-0.8 cm to the case, hence, it'll probably be about 5.2 cm long. If you don't mind a slight overhang of the lugs off the side of your wrist, I don't see why not... Having said that, I think the 42mm would be a safe choice, for sure.

As for the movement, can't speak for reliability and accuracy, but the difference between the two is that the 2824 should have a higher beat rate (8 bps) compared to the 21J (6 bps). Depends on how smooth you'd like the second hand to be - the gen PO is 8 bps.

Justingeen99

Horology Curious
14/2/11