• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Beginners questions. durability; power reserve

Jusezim

Horology Curious
2/10/22
Hello dudes. I'm new in this world and I'm choosing a model for my first buy. Im interested on the tag heuer aquaracer carbon (I already heard its discontinued, but my questions applys to all other watches).

I wanna know how is the durability of a good rep. Can I expect to remain with one for 1 year? 5? 10? I know it depends of a lot of factor like maintenance, conditions of use and so on. But i just wanna know if in a good circunstance, how many time Im going to have a rep working?

Another thing that I wanna know is about power reserve of these chinese automatic movements. The gen aquaracer carbon is about to last 38hours of power reserve. What about the A2824 that comes with the rep? How many time its supposed to last?

I apreciatte all coments and tips that you can give me.

drinkdrankdrunk

You're Saying I Can Sell?
19/11/21
UK
The durability question is something of a lottery. Some movements are known timebombs, but you’re always playing China roulette when dealing with Chinese watches. You can be lucky and you can be unlucky.

Feefo

Holding the eject button
Staff member
Moderator Sales
Certified
8/5/22
EU
Eta clones are quite reliable, and if they are well assembled they will last as their Gen counterparts. Obviously, that is often not the case (untidy working environment, no quality control...) , but if you get them serviced they should serve you well for quite some time, lika any other movement, and worst case you can swap them with the original.
I have 3 reps with eta clones and the power reserve is quite decent, I didn't measure it, but 30ish hours sound feasible.

Reactions: P..DR..D

Jusezim

Horology Curious
2/10/22