• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

ADGF’s “Neon” Daytona, "Steel Variant" - Replica Review

Reaps

There is no such thing as a 1:1 Replica!
25/9/22
Foreword

Let’s cut the crap and get straight into it. First of all, I do NOT have the $2,000,000 gen of this watch, so unfortunately all comparisons to “gen” will be with pictures. Additionally, this is a fake watch of a “custom watch” (a nice way of saying a “fake watch” in Rolex’s eyes). With that in mind I think we can bear with the watch itself. I'm not a professional reviewer so excuse me if I missed anything

Background

This watch first fell into my radar when it appeared in Adam Levine’s “Talking Watches”. I’m not a big writer, you can read these articles for background. What really hit me was the vintage subdials with the vintage markers, combined with an all brushed bracelet, no crown-guard case, and an imposing dial that is fully lumed. It smacks you right in the face. It’s loud, and brash, a modern sports watch with a splash of vintage features that flesh out an interesting personality for this watch.

For more reading :

https://www.hodinkee.com/articles/talking-watches-adam-levine

https://www.artisansdegeneve.com/en/challenges/neon-for-adam-levine/

Replica

There are two variants of this replica, the “steel” and “gold” variant. I opted for the steel, not a fan of gold watches, but please note that this is even more “fake”, since there is no steel variant of this watch that has ever been seen before in the wild. I know @VenomGT3 owns the gold one.

It belongs to a new factory, “ADGF” (very original name, I know). Previously ADGF only worked on Daytonas with 7750s, but with this new one, they’ve stepped it up. I’ve been impressed and I hope they release the other ADGs in their line with a 4130 (I would pick up the “Rusty” and “6263 modern vintage” from them!

Movement