• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

7750 First fix!

Ferrariman

Renowned Member
19/8/06
After my minutes at 3 would not reset to the correct position (0) on both my 187 and my 196 Asian Pams I decided to open them up and fix. I first opened the 187 to take a look. My hope was the hand was loose and just needed a tweak, no such luck. I studied what I could see just below the first (self winding) bridge and noticed that the wheels were not aligned properly and gave a tiny nudge to the gear I could see mis aligned through purely dumb luck it fixed the problem. I know I will need to go back and really look at the cause but for now it's "fixed".

Feeling very confident I moved on the the 196. I looked for the loose hand...no such luck. I looked at the gear alignment and was unable to get the same results as the 187. I noticed that the 7750 in the 196 was a better movement no obviously sloppy mis aligned gears although something jumped to cause the incorrect 0 reset. I decided that I would disassemble the first bridge which would enable me to disengage the gear, position at zero and be done with it. All went well using the few tools I had, really only screw drivers. I did not have the ETA documents that Pugwash was kind enough to post for me at the time. I was flying blind. I fixed the gear alignment and was ready for assembly.

Since I did not have the ETA docs I was not assembling in the correct order and I lost a clutch spring, or so I thought. At that point I was dead in the water and realized that I was getting ready to screw my watch up if I didn't get my plan together. I put all the pieces in a secure covered spot and started my research. After reading on the 7750, getting the ETA docs I ordered the following:

Movement holder
Hands puller
Swiss screwdriver set
Fine oiler
Xfine oiler
Moebius D5 and 9010, 9020
watch face shields
speed lube for gaskets
tweezers
Magnify light