• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

What would be the best daily beater?

jetrigger

Banned member, the goat does not approve
Banned
16/12/07
I have a Daytona, and an AP ROO that I alternate with, however, with the Daytona now gains about ten minutes a day as soon as I take it off, but when I wear it it keeps good time.
I am an electrical contractor, and am outside a lot, and need something durable. And believe a watch should be worn, not just looked at.
Open to suggestions.
Thanks for your time.

fakemaster

Mythical Poster
31/5/07
You need to lose the chrono watches and go with a three hand model. Rolex, Omega etc.

Yannou

10/2/07
EU
fakemaster said:
You need to lose the chrono watches and go with a three hand model. Rolex, Omega etc.

+1....as I have so many chronos in my collection but for a beater I 'll choose a 3 hands..like SFSO, SOH, Omega PO,Rolex.... :wink:

trailboss99

Head Honcho - Cat Herder
Staff member
Administrator
Certified
30/3/08
A basic 21J sub is my choice. I have had one on my wrist for about ten mths now and have worn it doing stuff I'd never wear a gen for. It's been there while I'v done everything from jackhammering, shooting, trail bike rideing even had the watch hand holding a block of wood against a piece of plate while flogging the other side with a 4lb hammer to remove dents. Tough, simple and at 100bucks cheap if it does eventualy break. Just have it tested for water resistance before you even think of geting it wet.

Col.

fakemaster

Mythical Poster
31/5/07
A 21J beats the hell out of a higher end one every day of the week in my opinion. And I don't mean a 4813. They are junk. A regular good quality 21J.

carnut

31/3/07
trailboss99 said: