• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Second hand smoothness?

levelmanroger

Mythical Poster
Patron
Certified
1/10/08
Texas
I just got my first Rolex rep (have 2 gens) and love it overall. However, the second hand sweep is not as smooth as on the gens. It has more of a ticking movement and less of a sweeping movement. My rep has Asian movement. Is the movement of the second hand better on ETA movement, or is it just a sacrifice you have to make with every rep?

guanaco

Mythical Poster
Advisor
16/7/07
Sidi Power Plant
Basic Asian 21J movement beats at 21,600BPH [yours] and the Swiss ETA 28,800BPH [just like the Gen Rolex]... I think the ETA Asian Clones beat at 28,800BPH too. With Rolex reps you should always go Swiss ETA when possible, or at least one with a movement at 28,800BPH.

levelmanroger

Mythical Poster
Patron
Certified
1/10/08
Texas
Thanks for the lesson. I'm still new to all this.
Note: It took me about 10 minutes to read your response. Your avatar is just smokin!!

AllergyDoc

I'm Pretty Popular
3/5/07
levelmanroger said:
Note: It took me about 10 minutes to read your response. Your avatar is just smokin!!
She looks underage, though. You should be hearing some pounding on your door any minute now! The "looking" police are out and about. :D

sconehead

I'm Pretty Popular
3/12/07
You can get a replacement DG4813 movement that beats the same 28800 bph as the gen/ETA and swap it out fairly easily...

Dizzy

Advisor - Vintage Rolex
Advisor
Patron
Certified
15/4/07
Western Canada
unless of course you are talking vintage rolex, with the older 1570 movement. it also beats at 21,600. If you are building an old style plastic crystal 1680 submariner or an old datejust, then you want to go for the 2846 slowbeat ETA or asian 21j movement to get the rougher ticking look to the second hand.

Dizzy

Advisor - Vintage Rolex
Advisor
Patron
Certified
15/4/07
Western Canada