• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

How often can I (should I) wear my rep watch?

KtrainHurricane

Horology Curious
15/6/15
Hi, sorry if this has been asked before, but I was wondering what the consensus is on how often one can wear their replica watch "safely." I am new to this and just bought my first rep - an Omega Speedmaster from a TD on this website. From what I've read it has the "best" movement available in a rep (ST19) but I'm not sure what exactly that even means...

Basically I'm curious about how often can I wear it. Every day? To work, and run errands, and around the house, and...well, everything? Or should this be a "wear for a few days then wear another for a few days" type deal? Do these reps "wear out," or should they last indefinitely if I give the watch proper care...and if so, what would that "proper care" specifically entail?

My watch is a manual - is it "safe" to wind it every day? Or will doing so put strain on certain parts causing premature failure?

Sorry again for all of this if it's common knowledge. I searched around a bit and didn't find all of these answered. I do appreciate everything I've learned from this forum so far, though!

D

d4m.test

Hi, use it and enjoy it at ease. The St19 is made for being wound, so just make it a ritual to give it the needed turns at a certain time of the day. One automatic, the Explorer II I ha it running for 24 months non-stop before storing it away over Summer this Year (good power reserve of over 44 hrs and daily on the wrist for some hours).
Some specific stop-watches or gold-plated reps are better suited for just using once a week, most You can just use as much as You want, when needed after some years they just get serviced as any gen needs too.

Once Your collection starts growing, You probably start using them in turns anyway.
ExplII_2294_zps350e1a49.jpg

Legendarysam5

Renowned Member
MULTI ACCOUNT