• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Rotor not rotating, no self winding on Noob Omega CrPo A2836

orm

Known Member
1/9/09
Hello friends, i recently received a beutiful Omega CrPo with Asian 2836 movement. Couldnt be happier with this watch.

Slight problem tho, i need to manually wind it as the rotor is barely moving when swirling or moving the clock.
I am aware that this is sometimes to be expected in the rep game and accept it.

A pic to visualise and make sure i use the right words:
rotor.jpg

I am somewhat handy and can read and follow a tutorial, but also a complete beginner with this so a few pointers would be very appreciated.

I have read and watched and have three suggestions of my own:

Clean the complete movement in alcohol and lube it with some mineral oil
Clean the ball bearing connecting the rotor to the rest of the movement and lube with mineral oil
Replace the ball bearing

Im not 100% sure on how to do the first two suggestions.

All input and help greatly appreciated.

vbr
Daniel

KBH

Mythical Poster
1/11/07
My first suggestion is to not even consider trying to clean and lube the movement. You apparently don't have a clue on how to do that properly. Second, the ball bearing is probably not the problem. Even lubing the rotor should only be done with the proper watch oils and most amateurs would have a tendency to way over-oil it.

At best, you should open the case back and see if you can tell why the rotor is not freely moving. It's quite possible that it could just be loose and needs the screw tightened. If other than that, you can't find any screws loose or any apparent reason why it's not winding I would suggest you let a watch smith take a look at it.

orm

Known Member
1/9/09
Thank you for your reply.

As soon as my friction ball arrives i will have a careful look at it.