• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

First Submariner - Learning About theWwatch and Starting a mod tutorial thread

ballonasap

Horology Curious
6/2/14
So this is my first thread on the forum. I'm very new to the hobby and spent a while learning about what my options are. Although I plan to purchase TC, I think a lot of beginners would benefit from a concise thread that helps them get the most value out of a Sub build. I bought the cheapest 16610 I could find from Stan (#164).

I hope to accomplish the following with this thread:
1.) Learn about all the common flaws of sub reps under 250$ (specifically mine)
2.) Learn how to fix most of those flaws and document my experience
3.) Use this experience to advise newbies like me on how to maximize the value from their build

I'm currently using pictures I find online but I will borrow a colleagues gen inorder to better understand any visual discrepancies.

Here is the watch I received (cost me a total of 110$)

2eqbey0.jpg

2r3xdoz.jpg

ballonasap

Horology Curious
6/2/14
I really need help assessing what is wrong with this watch. Please let me know if im wrong because Im sure I am:

1.) The traingle at the top of the dial is misalgined but the rest of the dial looks good to me.
2.) Date wheel font and maginifcation looks off
3.) I need help figuring if the crown guards are accurate and if not, how do I fix them?
4.) Side of the case is polished as it should be but the sides of the links are wrong, can I polish them or should I replace the bracelet?
5.) The bezel feels solid and rotates as is should, looks good to me.
6.) I know the pearl is off and there are plenty on resources for that.
7.) Rehaut is aligned well (i think) and so is the etched rolex crown on the crystal at the 6 position

Any other comments? I'm excited to learn more!

SUMIKITO

Supporter and Senior Purveyor of YouTube News
Supporter
5/4/13
San Marino, California