• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Gen Repair Using Rep Movement - Advice?

Pinkape404

Horology Curious
14/2/15
Hey All, I have a Gen Tank which stopped working. Dealer quoted obscene amount, and some local repair guy wanted $750 to replace the mechanism.

Here is what I am thinking - find a solid rep movement, have it installed and call it a day.

Can someone point me in the right direction of a TD or mod that might handle this in the CONUS. I am physically in LA or NYC (work).
d54378cf5760c9978dc9bad1471ab5d1.jpg
975650fdee6cdf2e8818d242bd343492.jpg

PinkApe is a pseudonym. I am a seasoned tax professional, SEO hobbyist, inventor, philosopher, and independent and free thinker.

airking1975

29/12/08
Do you know the movement model required?or the model reference number for this watch. Can research and find out. It's a cartier decorated ETA movement. Gen ETAs don't cost that much and you can keep some of the cartier deotated parts. Just check out our watch smiths in their section. Katt is in Conus and I bet you he can fix it pretty quick and nowhere near that price you were quoted and you can keep the gen movement

SSTEEL

Banned
Banned
30/1/13
If you could let us know the movement, then we can assist further ;)

Pinkape404

Horology Curious
14/2/15
Wow .. Thanks - I didn't realize there was a response on this. Ok how would I be able to tell you this info? I have the watch in my hand ...

PinkApe is a pseudonym. I am a seasoned tax professional, SEO hobbyist, inventor, philosopher, and independent and free thinker.

Pinkape404

Horology Curious
14/2/15