• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

noob with a brain about to explode!!!!!

ahawkeyeguy

You're Saying I Can Sell?
8/2/13
Ok... I've been lurking for about a week now. Reading a TON of threads. Read Fakey's corner, all of the "read this first" stuff... And I THINK I have it "down" but I'm sure I'm missing something.

Here's my thoughts:

I'm new to this. I don't want to spend a TON of $$ because I'm not sure if my initial interest is going to last, so, price is a major factor.

IF I were to go with a particular watch these are the main things I'm looking at:

Movement: I'm probably going to go with the 21J (I understand this to be a lower quality movement... am I correct?) because I'm a novice and know very little about the difference. IF I were to continue purchasing I would move up and see the difference I'm sure.

Bezel: Make sure it's whatever material it should be - if it's supposed to be ceramic, it should be ceramic - (not painted metal):

Crystal: Sapphire is better than Quartz. Where does the Plexi rank (I'm assuming low, but, have seen it on quite a few of the TD's sites).

I'm not 100% sure what else I should be particularly picky about.

My main concern is that the watch is going to end up feeling "cheap and tinny"... Is there anything in particular I need to keep an eye out for to avoid this?

Thus far I'm leaning towards buying from Hont, Marvellous or Narikaa. I don't plan on ordering until March (as I believe the Chinese holiday is going on right now and won't probably get a great response anyway).

How am I doing? Am I totally off on something? Any good tips?

I just hope I don't get any Jean Luc Piccard's... lol... :goat:

Edit: DUH: I'm thinking about starting with a Rolex Submariner (think this is pretty basic starter) or an Avenger V4, (or really any Breitling because I'm slightly obsessed...)

D

d4m.test