• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Colorless Double Sided AR

seank

I'm Pretty Popular
20/3/06
I've been away for awhile and in the mean time someone removed the AR from some of the PAM reps. Can someone explain? Usually when a dealer or dealers says something like "Colorless Double Sided AR" it translates into "We've removed the AR all together but we're saying it's "Colorless" I've got a NOOB 111 on the way and I want to be prepared. Can someone explain this to me? Does this colorless AR actually work? In this I am a complete NOOB.

Sean K

LupTak

Renowned Member
15/12/11
Good point/question. I'm on the verge of ordering one too (after CNY) and would like to hear opinions on this as well.

Rogerthat

Renowned Member
6/11/06
Yes, just got the new 088 and it looks awesome.
Probably the best rep AR i have seen and I have seen a large number of them.

Cheiftang and others aftermarket variety is better but not by all that much, this is a really good coating.
I am worried about it's scratch resistance but it will take a few months before we know about that but yes it is a major upgrade!!!

Colorless in this case just means there is no hue at all, not blue, purple, yellow, etc...
It does it's job of reducing reflections without any color tint.

Rogerthat

Renowned Member
6/11/06
I should note:
that technically if single sided (inside only) then scratching would not be an issue.

BUT I am not sure they are really single sided.
For the new 088 for example from H factory ; some dealers state this as single and others double sided
I have one and can confirm it is double sided AR.
So as usual take what the dealers say with a grain of salt.

Rogerthat

Renowned Member
6/11/06
Worse case if it scratches on the top layer you could always take a cape cod cloth to the top and remove the top coat.

sharrkey

Legendary Member
Advisor
14/6/08