• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Solar Flare Radiation and Watch Lume

James9

Known Member
25/6/09
I noticed a strange thing last night. I have two watches on my nightstand, a Citizen Eco-drive and my IWC Big Pilot. I turned off the light to hit the hay, then noticed that my two watches seemed to be glowing a bit brighter than usual -- especially the Citizen.

Then I remember the report of an especially large Solar Flare currently hitting the earth. And I wondered if the lume on watches could catch any of that radiation. I'm no scientist, but I did read that solar radiation covers almost the whole electromagnetic span and optimum wavelenghts for lumed watches are from 200-450 nm. Has anyone else noticed this?

Any science types out there?

Jim

Matt Watch

I'm Pretty Popular
12/7/07
Interesting question James9, i would love to hear the answer. I have two of my high-lume watches outside right at this moment.

Member X

I'm Pretty Popular
21/4/09
I guess the only way to tell would be leave them by the window and see if they were still very bright an hour or so before sunrise, when it's been dark for a long time and they should be very dim by then.

majwilliams

14/12/10
CONUS
Pretty sure the release of photons is governed by the material not the light source in terms of the lume. That being said, shorter lambdas will energize lume more quickly.

brtelec

Put Some Respect On My Name
Advisor
16/8/06
Phoenix
Ok James9, I have to say this. You need a second hobby. You apparently have way too much free time! LOL

James9

Known Member
25/6/09