• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

'Reliable' Rolex rep

Iconic

Horology Curious
8/2/11
Hey guys, I'm new to the scene and these forums. I'm interested in purchasing a Daytona. I've been doing a lot of reading up but I'm still confused. From what I understand daytona's with A-7750 and running second at 6 are refered to as 'ticking' timebombs. ((Like this one.)

Over here is about the same watch as far as I can tell, however people are saying it's reliable. Why is that? What's the difference between these 2 watches, as they both seem to use A-7750? How can I distinguish the reliable vs the non reliable? Hope I made myself clear. Thank you :)

slimslim

I'm Pretty Popular
18/9/10
the second link is for a21j daytona, it's not a chrono or a 7750. that is why it is more reliable.

levelmanroger

Mythical Poster
Patron
Certified
1/10/08
Texas
A 21J movement is much more reliable and less expensive, but the chronos are fake. They probably just advance 1 click when you depress one of the pushers.

Iconic

Horology Curious
8/2/11
Very clear, thanks :). I can't find a topic where the different kind of movements is explained for newbies like myself, so I'll ask it here. How does Japanese quartz movement hold up compared to 7750 and 21J? As seen here. Or is it as simple as staying away from the models that have working chronograph?

I'm also confused by say, this one, it's 21J but it says in the title it has chronograph.

murklemark

I'm Pretty Popular
28/7/10
Movements section has all the movement info you'll need.