• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

First post! First rep! First franken project! - ST19 Speedmaster

dan_j

5/11/10
Hi guys!

I joined the forum a couple of months ago but this would be my first post! I've been collecting watches for just over a year now but only got into the world of reps recently and it has been fun. I'm a student and can't afford most gen watches that I want so reps have provided me the joy instead. Hopefully in a few years I'll be able to afford some reps!

Anyways, I acquired my first rep Omega Speedmaster with ST19 movement in November from a member here (it was a very smooth transaction thanks to horologik). The watch came at a very low cost due to the fact that it was missing its stem and the crown. I figured I should be able to get it fixed by a watchsmith so I purchased it. However, when I brought it to a (rep-friendly) watchsmith here in Toronto, I was quoted over 100 dollars to get it fixed. So I decided to make this my 'franken' project. I started looking for genuine Omega crown and the stem that would fit the watch. After a couple of months of research I finally got the parts from the Netherlands for ~$25 CDN. And today I finally got them all together after some effort (The keyless mechanism was actually slightly out of place).

I think the watch is absolutely beautiful. Although the subdials are too far apart and the subdial @6 needs to be freezed (my next project) I think it is just as beautiful as the gen. Anyways enjoy the pictures! (Excuse the poor photography skills...)

IMG_0114.jpg

Love the hesalite
IMG_0116.jpg

Wrist shot - 6.5"
IMG_0119.jpg

IMG_0122.jpg

My Current Collection
IMG_0121.jpg

Daniel

cybee

Legendary Member
Supporter
23/11/06
Great first post and nice job on the stem repair.

A big welcome to you.

levelmanroger

Mythical Poster
Patron
Certified
1/10/08
Texas