• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Can someone tell me about the dial of my gold day-date? Real, fake, or rare?

HublotSenna

You're Saying I Can Sell?
25/11/10
I don't know much about Rolex's but I'm here to learn. Anyway I just got a new watch from my uncle. I think its real but anyway he claims the dial is rare... I looked at other day-date presidentials and the roman numerals are upside down? If anyone can help me learn about my watch that'd be great. Thanks!

19dd90121fbd2ea2ec908fe170326633_large.jpg

3f9632160c4aadddbb17c4962ae08ea7_large.jpg

markh

I'm Pretty Popular
Supporter
14/1/10
One way to find out if it's real or not... Open the back and look at the movement...

Looks good to me!

frigpig

Ghost of Sales Mod Past
Advisor
16/8/09
I am no Rolex expert but I know enough to know that is not a rare dial combination. Just a champagne colored roman day-date.

They place the numerals like that so they are easy to read. Think about a regular clock, is the 6 upside down?

Dscn8376.jpg

Oh yah, and my money is on gen all the way. No amount of plating will still be there after that much abuse. You go yourself a real nice watch there my man. Now......try not to pawn it! ;)

HublotSenna

25/11/10
Thanks for the help everyone! But I see most of them like this...

why do they switch orientations like that?

frigpig

Ghost of Sales Mod Past
Advisor
16/8/09
It would appear they did make both. Sorry about that.

Looks like some that say T-SWISS-T are flipped.

DayDateBlackRomansGold.jpg

And newer SWISS MADE dials are not.

Day-Date%20dial%20white.JPG

d-rock

Banned member, the goat does not approve
Banned
24/8/10
I also agree it's a gen based on the condition of the bracelet.... judging by the condition of it I would think the gold plating would shows signs of rubbing off...and yours doesn't. The date wheel looks to be better than most if it's a repl.

HublotSenna

25/11/10