• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

AP Mod

abekat

Horology Curious
6/1/11
Hey all

This is my first post about modding. And im very new to this. So go easy on me..

I want to replicate a good AP Watch. So i've search a lot around and came up with this.

Buy this watch
http://www.puretimewatch.com/product/royal-oak-offshore-ultimate-rubberclad-black-updated/

then get a eta 7750 and mount it. (Does it need mod for running 12 secs)
and get a gen dial
Like this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/AP-AUDEMARS-PIG...708?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f065a3ca4

and then get hold of gen bands etc. all the small things.

Am i totally wrong or is it possible?

Christian

trksh-bzr

Mythical Poster
Advisor
25/9/09
hey christian din abekat :)

in order to install a gen eta 7750, you need to mod it by using the module, that already is in the watch, when delivered with A7750. (or have it done, I would)
this however doesn't fit the gen dial, though I heard talk of that being possible to mod also. -I think I would get a good rwi modder to just boost the lume if needed instead.
gen band- ofcourse, if you find one, why not :)

btw, welcome to rwi, are you danish, by any chance?

Edgematic

I'm Pretty Popular
5/8/08
Christian,

It seems you want to have a franken AP ROO.

Well, the modding you suggest is not as easy as it would seem but it is possible.

Although what you suggest (using a gen 7750) would not be possible. The main problem here is that the date window of a 7750 movement is more to the right comparing with the movement AP uses. Best thing is to use the modded asian7750 and get it serviced instead of a gen 7750.

If you really want to use a gen dial then you would have to use an LWO movement, basically an eta 2892-A2 movement with Dubois Depraz module. This to solve the datewindow positioning problem.