• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Noobs' guide to movement types

appled

Known Member
26/8/10
As a noob myself, it has taken me a while to get my head around the different movements available for watches, I could not find a 'beginners' thread with this info all in one place, so here is my summary to (hopefully) help other noobs. If there is interest, I will update it as my knowledge increases - please let me know if I have made any glaring errors or omissions, or put it in the wrong place, but remember, I have tried to keep it simple and this is new to me too!

Quality Control
Although the Chinese movements are generally well made and assembled, the same does not go for how the watches are assembled, they are often very dirty inside, and poorly lubricated. There is very little if any QC, and whichever movement you get, there is a fair chance that it will not work properly. I have heard a 25% fail rate is common, some people are even more unlucky. Dealers usually do not check before shipping, even if they claim to.

1) Quartz
This movement (in reps) is often used in chronos. Accurate timekeeping, reliable, and is the only commonplace option for a working chronograph other than the 7750. Although many non-chrono gens have quartz movements, with some brands (eg. Omega), you will be hard pushed to find many non-chrono reps that do, in other brands they are more common, eg. Tag Colt, Tag Tiger Woods golf watch, Chanel J12, Cartier. They seem to be more common in ladies' watches. Check the photos carefully before buying a quartz rep, often they are not very good quality (but the examples here tend to be good).