• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

COMPARISON BP 5002 Big Pilot Faux PR vs GEN 5004

ql224

10/2/16
So being a newish member I want to contribute something to this forum, which has been a wonderfully indulgent time sink for me. Having some experience with gens before entering this forum, I am able to compare my gen big pilot 5004 to the BP factory 5002 Big Pilot. The model I acquired was brand new, modified with a gen dial of 5002. I originally bought it because I had been lusting after the 5002 dial, however couldn't justify buying a gen 5002, with my current 5004. It would be to costly to sell my 5004, and as luck would have it, the BP 5002 came up for sale on m2m.

As a forward, I am not a professional watchmaker and so my perspective will not be technical, only based on feel and opinion based on what I see.

Lets compare these two watches! Excuse the poor lighting

image_zpsfgtz2f5s.jpg

First Impressions:
On first glance, the watches are strikingly similar. Of course because both are GEN dial, the white markers, black matte dial color will be pretty much identical. The Case, bezel, and crown are indistinguishable except for small details, as I can explain later.

It is interesting to note that the Glare on both crystals are strikingly similar, which is probably due to poor, overexposed lighting on my part. In any case, the level of glare is identical on both, which makes the rep crystal very similar to the genuine. Both AR are not as clear as Steves or the other ones found on the forum, which really makes our reps better than gens in that regard.

I will not review the movement, it is inside closed caseback and we all know the difference between gen and rep.

Case and Crown