• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

How long do the Reps last?

Milan8161

Horology Curious
12/2/21
Hi,

I'm a complete noob, who just landed up in the rep world after getting utterly frustrated dealing with authorised dealers (of Rolex). At first glance, this seemed to be an irresistible proposition - owning my dream watch which I've lusted quite a lot for, at a fraction of it's price.. which for all practical purposes is indistinguishable from the genuine! I ordered a Noob Explorer1 the very first day I landed up in the rep time Reddit page.

Then I started reading.. and I see that one aspect is conspicuously missing in the discussions. Nobody seems to mention how long these watches last.

Is it because they are "cheap" compared to their genuine counterparts to bother about.. or because it's taken for granted that the reps only has a fraction of longevity of the gens.. or because newer and better models/versions appear time to time making the older ones obsolete? Or, finally, could it be because they're all generally running well without major issues.

As someone planning to invest heavily in reps, I dearly hope it's the latter. Could some seasoned buyers comment on the longevity of reps in general, from their past experience?

Many thanks

p0pperini

patr0n h0arder
Gold Patron
Certified
29/1/19
UK
Is it because they are "cheap" compared to their genuine counterparts to bother about..
Partly, yes. And many of these watches are fitted with movements that are pretty cheap to replace if/when they go wrong - so it's no real tragedy if one breaks... Just bung a new movement in.

or because it's taken for granted that the reps only has a fraction of longevity of the gens..
See above. And in the case of the more expensive, complicated movements, if they're serviced (like you'd do with any watch) then they can potentially go for years.