• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Care new watch

Flonti

Looking Around
21/3/20
Hi so I was wondering what I should do when I receive ay rep watch. Complete noob here and I haven't ordered anything (yet), but I read things about winding and winding cases.

* When I receive the watch, do I have to wind the crown? Is there a certain amount?
* People said that you should bring watch in for a service, is this a must and does every watchmaker services rep (or they don't care)?
​​​
Do I receive this information from the TD or is there is special guide I missed?

beau7816

Banned member, the goat does not approve
Banned
20/9/16
UK Devon
If you have a local watchmaker (independent not high street chains) they are most likely to service the watch as long as you tell them what movement and allow them to replace weak parts at a reasonable cost.

Though not many tell you this, but when you move the hands on a watch a. never do it between 10pm and 02am as the works of the watch are in motion
b. never ever move the hands backwards only forwards - you can work out the sense in this.
c. never try to change the date backwards only do it forwards - you can work out the sense in this as well.

When buying from a trusted dealer all the information about the watch is listed next to it.

Welcome to RWI and enjoy some good reading :wave-1:

The following link has new content
https://forum.replica-watch.info/for...45#post7808745:welcome:

Kalev007

I'm Pretty Popular
25/6/19
The first day you receive it you have to wait for the midnight and a full moon. Don't take any plastic off yet. During the first full moon when you received it leave it outside your home surrounded by a circle of candles along with some cedar tree leafs and black pepper seeds. Light the candles for the night and let it sit there till the morning.