• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

First Rep, First Review: My 6263 PN.

W124E

Known Member
16/5/19
Hi all! I'm new here, but I've been pouring over the vintage forums non-stop for the past week or so. I figured now that I've been on the forum for a few days I'd attempt my first post in outside of the New Member Zone. This is my ROC 6263, the watch that got me into Reps. I had been lusting after a good Newman Daytona for about five years; I'd read an article about the "long-lost" Newman watch (remember those days?) and instantly fell in love. As Daytona fever continued to rise, I poured over everything I could about the watches and their differences. I loved the Newman Singer dial and its only-in-the-60s design, but I could give or take the "DAYTONA" lettering (I couldn't find a single Rep that got it right), and I loved the screw-down pushers. So, I set my sights on the 6263. In July 2018, I came across a decent-looking Rep from Allswisswatch. This is what I saw: https://www.allswisswatch.eu/swiss-r...r-replica.html

VwVRdR.md.jpg

Straight away, I was interested in this watch. I wanted the cream dial, because I wanted to have something like the patina a 50-ish year old watch could have. But there were drawbacks. For one, the chrono hour dial dripping into the outer track bugged the hell out of me. Also, the bracelet looked chintzy, and I was anxious to see the quality of the bezel in person. But, I went for it. I don't regret it for a second.

VwVMng.md.jpg