• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

rep Pelagos (sharing and question)

thormak

Looking Around
30/12/22
Kuala Lumpur
Hello RWIs! I am new here and been reading in the forum for a while, lots of good feedback on the Pelagos so I decided to get one.

It's not really a review, just want to share a bit of what I did when I got the watch.
A bit of introduction, I bought the rep Pelagos actually to try it out, for I am planning to get a Pelagos 39. I am also a beginner in watchmaking, so I kind of thought a rep would be good to practice as well.

This is a not a review, but I do want to share a few things I noticed when I receive the watch.
1. The first thing I did was to check the crown, it was very tight and crunchy at times.
2. I open up the caseback and it crunch like hell, and the o ring is not greased.

So i decided to do a cleaning inside out, and also to check the HEV whether it is working.

Remove the outer and inner o-ring from inside and outside of crown tube (the inner were greased from factory actually but not the outer ones)

Removed the o-ring from crown (also lubed)

A shot from the movement, I got this from a local seller saying it's XF, but I can't tell actually, maybe someone can shed some light.

Some dirt when I use a piece of pegwood running around the crown and tube's thread, and the caseback.

So I just ultrasonic them for 30mins and put them back together.
The crown is wonderful, they are not crunching anymore and buttery smooth.
The caseback did improved, especially when you start hitting the o-ring, maybe the resistance help to improve the screw down, but not as good as the crown overall.

Can't really show the dirt, burs and maybe machining oils from the threads, just using my phone to capture these photos.
Hope that helps!