• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

How many wind = full wind in A6497 ?

phc24

Horology Curious
25/6/16
Hi, can any expert help me ? I am a noob in watch and recently just bought a pam112 with 6497, 21600 beat, but I do not know when to stop winding it, i usually stop winding it ( around 40 turn ) when the crown start to kick back ( some pressure ), is it correct ? I do not dare to wind anymore because I scare i might break the movement. But the power reserve is only 12 hours.

nalomb

Be Excellent
6/8/12
Your movement likely needs to be serviced -- you should get about 42-48 hours out of an A6497. Good news is you're doing it right on the winding. Stop when you feel resistance and 40 turns is about right.

Zeinharis

I'm Pretty Popular
17/1/16
Winding it until you can't go further, if it's fully wound it will be hard for you to wind it and you'll going to need extra force to over wind the 6497.

About the PR, if you have fully wound the movt and still getting <20hours of PR, then you have a mainspring problem.

Sent from my iPhone 6s using Tapatalk

phc24

Horology Curious
25/6/16
I just get the watch brand new from toro, i tried to wind 50 times just now from dead stop, and i think i able to wind more , just abit resistance from the crown. I saw from some web some 6497 can wind until 80 turns

Rx4Time

Supporter, Panerai lover
Supporter
Certified
31/3/16
CONUS
PAM s have this crown guard which alters the distance the crown will turn. I'd say mine is in the neighborhood of 40 until resistance is met. If you push beyond that you can damage the movement or snap the stem, so you are right to stop. I see 40+ hours. Sounds like you need a service. The good news is that these are relatively simple movements so the cost of service is not too bad. After service, you should be good as these are considered durable workhorse movements.

ShiroTenshi

Mythical Poster
7/12/11