• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

ETA 2836-2 Keyless Works

dustin

Renowned Member
7/6/10
These are pictures/step by step of me taking apart and reassembling the keyless works on an ETA 2836-2. I'm by no means an expert, just starting to learn this stuff. If I did something wrong, someone please let me know. I will edit the post to reflect that.

I didn't intend on doing a step by step initially, so I didn't take all that many/great pictures. I am having to use mostly the reassembly pics for both the disassembly and reassembly. Next time I do one (on an a7750 which should be in the next couple weeks), I will certainly take better pics.

This particular ETA 2836-2 is a little bit of an oddball. It is in an older Sandoz Datejust. It has no balance stop (hack) lever. When I decided to take it apart, I thought it just was bent or something, but as far as I can tell, this one never hacked (someone please correct me if I'm wrong, I don't know much about the different versions of these). It also has no day wheel installed. So removing/reinstalling that is an extra step on any movement with a day wheel.

I start out with the movement uncased, hands removed, and dial removed. There are other step-by-steps on how to do that, I believe.

STEP 1:

On this first step I loosened the screw circled in green. I then removed the screw that is circled in red. Then I remove the entire plate that is pointed to in red. Loosening the green circled screw makes it easier to remove the plate, because the plate has a tab that sticks underneath it.

3q04go.jpg

STEP 2:

In this step, I remove the day wheel. I do this by sliding it slightly to the left and just lifting it off. The plate that was previously removed held it on. I slide it to the left a little bit, because it is also underneath a plate slightly where the red arrow is pointing.