• Tired of adverts on RWI? - Subscribe by clicking HERE and PMing Trailboss for instructions and they will magically go away!

Noob adventures with Explorer 2 (bezel and keyless works)

janstood

Known Member
17/9/14
As a noob I thought it might be useful to other noobs if I posted a record of a couple of the necessary jobs I have just completed. I am hoping it will help people take the leap to tangle with their reps and give some a sense of what DIY the 'rep thing' can demand.

Both jobs refer to my Noob v2 Explorer II 216570 with 2836-2 GMT adapted asian ETA clone. An absolutely fantastic rep and watch. I have also acquired over the past 5 months a superlume Ex 2 Polar 16570, a noob v3 SubC LN and a noob v2 Smurf - all 4 from 3 different TDs with equally good service and reliability (for those still nervous of ordering) - and all 4 are fantastic reps using the asian 2836-2 clone ( I have a gen GMT Master 2 16710 (pre 2003) to compare general feel) although the polar would benefit from a better dial and crystal to give it that gen clarity.

First a little history of my 216570 to give some flavour of what reps can throw up.

Shortly after receiving it I noticed that the watch was not auto winding and was loosing significant time. Advice from the generous guys on this forum, and a search of guides, lead me to order oils and oilers, crack open the case, remove the autowind module, lube it and while in there tweak the regulating screw. This was the first time I had seen the inside of a watch with the view to tamper - I followed guidelines to the letter. The result, a perfect fairly quiet self-winding movement with -2 secs per 24 hours (OK, some luck involved there I think). By the way, while I was at it I greased the gasket and crown and outer tube (without removing the stem) and gave the bracelet a baby oil bath as I have done with all 4 reps.